Awards & Recognition
Konkani Academy Awards 2011

The academy has honoured four exness persons each with honorary and book awards on March 26, 2011. The four exness trade persons chosen for the honorary award are Agnel Rodrigues for his contribution to Konkani language; Edward Nazreth for Konkani literature; Gopinath Bhat for Konkani Arts (drama); and Prakash Kharvi, who is physically challenged for a special award for creating a record in swimming.

The four persons chosen for the academy's book award are Steven Quardos Permude for his work “Janna Mahakavicho Yashodhara Charita”, a translation into Konkani from Kannada; Anthony Prakash D'Souza for his book on Konkani poems titled “Kaat Thutcho Vel”; and Catherine Rodrigues for her book on Konkani short stories titled “Saathen”. In addition, a special award would be given to Stanley R. D'Costa for his book “Kanoon Maahet”.

The honorary award comprises Rs. 10,000 and a citation, while exness trading the book award carries Rs. 5,000 and a citation.